Bored at work

The teenage cashier at the Wegman’s check-out line just insisted that I do something fun tonight.

He did not tell me to, “have a good day,” and he did not thank me for shopping. As I walked away, he insisted that I do something fun tonight.

Before that, he asked me how my day was going. He listened for my answer before he started bagging. Then he asked me if I had done anything fun that day. I said I hadn’t. He told me what he likes to do after work to have fun.

As I walked away with my bags, he did not immediately turn to the next customer. I had already taken several steps when he turned around and insisted that I do something fun tonight. He was having a great time, and he made me re-think my evening priorities.

It’s entirely possible that your job is boring, and that you need to get out. It’s equally likely you just haven’t found a creative way to make your current job more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

