Who to date

The person that makes you think, “Oh, hell yeah I’d love to date him/her.”

This, according to Derek Sivers, is the best way to think about most of your decisions:

“The idea is, if you’re feeling anything less than, ‘Oh, hell yeah I would love to do that. Oh my God that would be amazing!’ If you’re feeling anything less than that then just say no, because most of us say yes to too much stuff, and then we let these little mediocre things fill our lives. And so the problem is when the occasional, ‘Oh my God, hell yeah,’ thing comes along, we don’t have the time to give it attention because you’ve said yes to too many other little half-*** kind of stuff. So once I started applying this, my life opened up because I just said, ‘Nope, nope, nope, nope’ to almost everything. But then when the occasional thing came up where I was like, ‘You know what? That would be awesome,’ then suddenly I had all the time in the world. 

[…]

Even personal things, even people you meet, even as I’m dating, you have to do the, ‘Hell yeah, or no’ approach. Or people ask you to go to events, or even people asking for a phone call. Am I really excited about that? Almost every time the answer is no, so I say no to almost everything, and then occasionally something will come up.”

Leave a Reply

