Body fat

People often comment that I have muscular calves. Sometimes they ask what I did to get such muscular calves. My answer: pick parents that have muscular calves, because it’s mostly genetic.

My mom has muscular calves, and so does my brother. There’s nothing in particular I did to get muscular calves.

This isn’t to say that body fat isn’t malleable. There are plenty of ways to decrease it, and plenty of ways to increase muscle. But it’s worth remembering that spot reduction is a myth. If you’re looking for a six-pack, there is no abdominal exercise that will give them to you.

Spend as much time accepting what won’t change as changing what will.

Leave a Reply

