What do college students do if they don’t drink?

The only possible response to this question is, “Well, what’s important to you?”

I rarely go to bars. If I did I’d have to stay up late. I’d have to sleep in the next morning, and I might get a hangover.

Waking up early is important to me. It’s when I do my reading, and when I do my best writing. I’ve found that my most creative thinking happens between 6 a.m. and 8 a.m. It’s almost always the best part of my day, and there’s rarely a good reason to miss it.

A better question, asked over and over again: “What’s important to me?”

Drinking in bars is important to some people, certainly. But there’s a lot more people who go along with it because they’ve never figured out what’s important to them.

Leave a Reply

