I don’t write this blog for you

Several people have pointed out to me how good it is for student-athletes to read this blog. That thought never occurred to me when I started writing.

After all, I don’t write this blog for you. I write this blog for me. It just so happens that we think about and struggle with some of the same things.

Nor should you play your sport for me or your coach, for your mom or your dad. You don’t play so you can eventually be a starter, or so you can be named captain. You certainly don’t play for the rewards at the end of the year.

You play it because that’s what humans do. We play. We create.

Leave a Reply

