Resolutions and a fundamental law of behavior change

“People tend to abandon the good system they’ll follow in search of the perfect system they’ll quit.” ~ Tim Ferris

I have a resolution this New Year: meditate consistently. I wouldn’t even call it a resolution — I’d call it, “something I want to do that just happens to fall around January 1st.” Any time is a good time to change a behavior.

I’ve already sat every morning for two weeks straight using Sam Harris’s guided meditations. He has a 9-minute version and a 26-minute version. I tried the longer one once but couldn’t sit still for that long. The 9-minute one was reasonable for me, revealing a fundamental law of behavior change:

People tend to abandon the good system they’ll follow in search of the perfect system they’ll quit. If I were following the “better” 26-minute version, I would have quit by now.

Leave a Reply

